We Are All Human | Ahmed, Palestine

I was taught to look at people the way they look at me. I was raised to respect, value, and admire the different cultures, languages, skin colors, religions, and races.

When I went to visit my grandfather 5 years ago, it was one of those sunny April days. An 82 year old man, who had spent his life working in farming and merchandising, was one of the few to travel around the world back in the 1960’s.

Usually we drink tea and talk about family, friends, and my future plans. This time, however, was different- we only spoke about politics. This time my grandfather recalled his experiences in Jordan, Brazil, Beirut, Cyprus, and many of the other cities and countries he had visited. He tried to explain to me the real meaning of humanity…

Grandfather: We are all humans, have feelings, needs, and obligations. The more you meet people, the less you care about their nationality, race, religion, or even gender.

Me: Yes, I understand, but why are you telling me this.

Grandfather: You’ll understand as you grow up and meet different people.

The conversation continued as he went on to explain the importance of respecting everyone. “Humanity exists. It is inside everyone of us.” And as I journeyed on in life, I kept remembering my grandfather’s words. I met people from all sorts of places and always told myself ‘we are the same.’ I was taught to look at people the way they look at me. I was raised to respect, value, and admire the different cultures, languages, skin colors, religions, and races.

It took me quite a while to absorb the idea, to truly believe in humanity. In the end, humanity wins for me because, at least, I feel satisfied with myself for treating everyone equally based on humanity.

Watching the news makes me sick! The amount of violence, hate, and blood is alarming as well as an unfortunate reminder of the tremendous lack of humanity around the world today. However, I believe humanity will win one more time.

I still discuss the same topic with my grandfather, who seems to be more upset than I am about such incidents. We keep reminding each other that there must be people out there that still believe and think the way we do; at least it brings us hope in creating a better world.

Humanity is the ultimate value a human being must believe in. Let’s all be humans, pure from the inside, smiling from the outside. Let’s create a better future.

Leave a Reply

